Orchestra Concert Review

This is FREE sample
This text is free, available online and used for guidance and inspiration. Need a 100% unique paper? Order a custom essay.
  • Any subject
  • Within the deadline
  • Without paying in advance
Get custom essay

The concert opened up with “Sunrise” by Richard Strauss, which was featured in “2001: A Space Odyssey.” It is opened up with percussion playing pianissimo, with organ, contrabassoon, and double basses, these instruments play a sustained note. The tone poem gradually becomes louder when the brass section is introduced, this includes trumpets, which are eventually accompanied by the orchestra playing forte.

The orchestra plays forte and decrescendos to piano, then crescendos back to forte. The motif of this tone poem is repeated while gaining in intensity to excite the audience. The trumpets eventually come back in with the theme that is once again follow by the orchestra. After the repetition of the motif, the work comes to a cadence.

The concert continues with Wagner’s “Ride of the Valkyries” from “Die Walkure.” The music starts off with a prelude that is played by the orchestra lively. The woodwinds play fast and then eventually play in a swirling motion along with the strings. We are then introduced to the motive that is first played in the horns section, in a minor key. The motive is played by the trumpets shortly after, in a major key. We then hear the motive being played in fortissimo by the orchestra but it is heard mainly in the brass section.

We continue on with Tchaikovsky’s “The Nutcracker” which includes Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy, Russian Dance and Waltz of the Flowers. The Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy begins with the strings playing softly with double bass and cello. These instruments create a mysterious mood together by using pizzicato notes. The celesta comes in playing the main theme and due to it contrasting with the string section it creates a more playful mood.

The dynamics are varied. The woodwinds come in replacing the strings and the French horns are added. Violas play staccato notes and the orchestra comes in with chords that are repeated. The celesta comes back in with the main theme and is again accompanied by the orchestra and the piece is closed with a pizzicato chord.

Next, we are in for the Russian dance which is started off with the strings which play a very lively melody that is repeated when the orchestra accompanies. This piece ends with the return of the main melody dance which is quickened and played loudly. We then go on to the Waltz of the Flowers, which features a harp cadenza. There are loud sections that are at times followed by softer sections. The strings play a flowing melody that is answered by the woodwinds, this piece ends with the whole orchestra playing very loudly, leaving the audience amazed.

Cite this paper

Orchestra Concert Review. (2021, Jun 20). Retrieved from https://samploon.com/orchestra-concert-review/

We use cookies to give you the best experience possible. By continuing we’ll assume you’re on board with our cookie policy

Peter is on the line!

Don't settle for a cookie-cutter essay. Receive a tailored piece that meets your specific needs and requirements.

Check it out